By Linh Thuy Nguyen

It’s a new year, and a new #MelbLitSalon.

Firstly, the Melbourne Literary Salon is now officially a Scribble Creative project, under the behest of the indomitable Sarah Jansen. Secondly, I will be stepping in as the Coordinator for the Melbourne Literary Salon, and I hope to make this year at the Salon as exciting as possible.

A little about myself: I’m a literature student, studying honours in Comparative Literature at Monash University. Last year I was an Associate Producer for the Independent Publishing Conference (which is how I met Sarah and became involved with the Salon). I live with more cats and more books than I can handle.

Our first Salon of the year is on Tuesday 31 January, from 6 to 9pm at Beer Deluxe. I’d love to meet you all, so please swing by and say hello!

For those who are joining us for the first time, the Salon is a friendly gathering where the literary community can come together, mingle, and get to know one another in an informal and social setting. The format of the Salon has always been very casual and flexible, with an emphasis on meeting people and sharing ideas over drinks and pizza. If you’re working on anything at the moment or have a creative project you’d like to share, let us know.

This year we’d really like to raise the profile of the Lit Salon and maybe introduce some new things into the mix. I’d really like to hear your thoughts on what you want from the Salon, so if you have any ideas and suggestions drop me a line at linh@scribbleinc.com.au

See you next Tuesday!

Linh x

